Our God of Fire

Well, now that I’ve had a good few months to soak in what I want this blog to be about, it’s probably time to start filling it up.

I want to start by setting the tone. This blog is primarily a learning experiment for me. I love writing and through this blog, I hope to gain a proficiency in writing that I do not currently possess. I want expertise. At the same time, I would love to write about what I love. So I will. Much of what I write will be political, but I hope to balance it out with a good dose of theology and a healthy rationing of cultural reviews (books, movies, music, etc.).  One can never have enough of that, eh? Hop to it, then.

Jesus is the most important thing that has ever happened to the world. Do you realize that? He speaks to us as well. For example, my favorite Psalm at the moment is Psalm 18. This passage is, in a word, devastating. It’s best to read it in the King James Version, in my opinion. The King Jimmy preserves a certain richness and ancient power that the modern versions lose. Take a look:

“1I will love thee, O LORD, my strength.

2The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.

3I will call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies.

4The sorrows of death compassed me, and the floods of ungodly men made me afraid.

5The sorrows of hell compassed me about: the snares of death prevented me.

6In my distress I called upon the LORD, and cried unto my God: he heard my voice out of his temple, and my cry came before him, even into his ears.

7Then the earth shook and trembled; the foundations also of the hills moved and were shaken, because he was wroth.

8There went up a smoke out of his nostrils, and fire out of his mouth devoured: coals were kindled by it.

9He bowed the heavens also, and came down: and darkness was under his feet.

10And he rode upon a cherub, and did fly: yea, he did fly upon the wings of the wind.

11He made darkness his secret place; his pavilion round about him were dark waters and thick clouds of the skies.

12At the brightness that was before him his thick clouds passed, hail stones and coals of fire.

13The LORD also thundered in the heavens, and the Highest gave his voice; hail stones and coals of fire.

14Yea, he sent out his arrows, and scattered them; and he shot out lightnings, and discomfited them.

15Then the channels of waters were seen, and the foundations of the world were discovered at thy rebuke, O LORD, at the blast of the breath of thy nostrils.

16He sent from above, he took me, he drew me out of many waters.

17He delivered me from my strong enemy, and from them which hated me: for they were too strong for me.

18They prevented me in the day of my calamity: but the LORD was my stay.

19He brought me forth also into a large place; he delivered me, because he delighted in me.”

Psalm 18:1-19

Our God is powerful. Fire and smoke pour forth from His being as He shakes the very foundations of the world, and all of this to do what?

To get to you…His child who has called on Him in your distress.

Our God is powerful. And He loves you. When His children are threatened by the evil ones of this world, He becomes angry. Smoke rises from His nostrils; fire devours all before him.

And darkness is under His feet.

Nothing can stand against. Our King is mighty.

Knowledge Ignites.

Leave a Reply

