It’s Not Your Job

So after a long hiatus from my blog, I’m back. The congressional campaign I worked on was a tremendous experience and I treasured every moment of it. Unfortunately, my candidate (Kim Vann, who ran against liberal icon John Garamendi) did not win, but she lost by less than any other Republican challenger in the state of California. Anyway, I am no longer working 12-14 hours every day and thus have a little extra time to write in cyberspace. So I have some thoughts and encouragements for conservatives nationwide.

First of all, as many of us saw, conservatives were the losers in last weeks election. Not only did we lose virtually every race we contested (and I do mean virtually every one), but we failed to knock off some very vulnerable Democratic members in key Congressional battleground districts. I won’t get into the nitty gritty details, but the overall picture is that we failed. Such a massive failure gets one thinking about the state of society as a whole; I did what I suspect many of my conservative and Christian friends did. I analyzed everything that could possibly have gone wrong, not just with the election, but with our society and I tried to come up with solutions to fix all of it.

Now, here’s the problem. That’s impossible. Any one of us could talk for hours about everything wrong with society: the entitlement mentality that is rampant in our society, the licentiousness and debauchery that’s accepted and encouraged, the sins of our fathers visited upon our sons. To try and come up with solutions for all of that is a really big responsibility.

And you know what? In a lot of ways, it’s unbiblical. Where in His Word did God every grant to me the responsibility to fix all of society’s ills? Where did He say that His work can only be done if Republicans win elections? Where did He tell me to go and fix all of it? I don’t think He did. But I do know what He did tell me to do. He said to go into all nations and teach and baptize them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit (Matthew 18-20). He told me to serve Him and follow Him (John 12:26). He told me that He does things a little differently than we do (Isaiah 55:8). He said to take care of the widow and the orphan (James 1:27). But He never said, “Things are really messed up down there. Come up with a plan to fix your society, present it to me and I’ll approve it.” My job is to serve God in the capacity He has carved out for me. It is not my job to fix the world. That’s someone else’s job (Jesus, maybe?).

I think what these recent events teach us is that God is still in control no matter what. It’s also important to remember that “quality of life” is not why we exist on this planet. If the Republicans win, yes, theoretically taxes are lowered and quality of life increases (if we didn’t believe so, we wouldn’t vote for them). But in the end, we are on this earth to glorify God. And that is why, ultimately, elections are insignificant. Of course, it’s important to be good stewards of our resources and government. But God is the ultimate aim.

Those are my thoughts. What are yours?

SDG.

Leave a Reply

