I’m in Love with my iPhone

It’s true. I’m sorry for all those who don’t like the iPhone, but I seriously love this thing. I thought I’d do a fun post and just list some of the coolest apps I’ve found, as well as the most useful.

Fun and/or Cool Apps

1. AppsGoneFree – This is app is super fun, super cool, and super useful. It lists all the free apps on the App Store for that day and you can find all kinds of delicious apps that normally cost money. Most of the apps I list here were found through AppsGoneFree.

2. NodeBeat – This fun little app is a visually based music maker. You are able to drag nodes onto the screen and add beat generators that draw musical wonderment from the little circles of harmonious color. I got it for free but it’s normally $.99, I believe. I’ve spent a lot of time basking in my simple musical creations, as well as annoying many of my close friends who don’t find my musical creations all that musical.

3. TrailMix – I literally just found this app yesterday and it’s absolutely brilliant. Have you ever found a song that matched your running pace perfectly? I have and it was awesome! Well, this app takes any song and adjusts the tempo to your running pace. It’s such a brilliant concept! If you are a runner who listens to music on the trail, this app is literally a must have. Go get it. Right now. It needs you just as much as you need it.

4. CarTunes – This is a pretty simple app that makes it easier to manage your music while driving. It’s gesture based so it clears up some of the clutter found in the original music app that you may not want to deal with while driving.

Productive/Necessary Apps

1. PocketSword – This is by far the best Bible app that you can get for free. It has most translations of the Bible as well as commentaries, dictionaries, daily devotionals, and the ability to bookmark verses. You can look up the Greek or Hebrew definitions for certain words if you have the right dictionaries installed and you can get some of the most popular commentaries (such as the Matthew Henry Commentary on the whole Bible). It is so incredibly useful and I’m amazed more people don’t have it. The one feature I wish it had (that it’s competitor, YouVersion has) is reading plans available in the app. In every other way, however, it is a far superior app to YouVersion.

2. FighterVerse – This is a Bible verse memorization app and it is well work the $2 or $3 that you must spend to download it. I’ve memorized many passages with the aid of this app and I recommend it to anyone who has a goal of Scripture memory. It’s amazing and it has proved very useful to me. It categorizes the memory verses as well, which make it convenient when you want to find verses that match a certain struggle you’re going through.

3. 3D Classic Literature – I have three reading apps (including iBooks and Google Play Books) but this is my favorite. The format is unique and different and there’s a pretty good selection of books. It’s $.99 and since I got the app (I had another iDevice for about a year that I used this app with), I’ve read The Picture of Dorian Gray, Frankenstein, A Journey to the Centre of the Earth, The Hound of the Baskervilles, The Scarlet Pimpernel, Around the World in 80 Days, and Heart of Darkness. I’m currently working on Treasure Island. I like having a reading app on my mobile device because I can read when I’m waiting for something and only have a couple minutes to spare. I recommend a good reading app for your mobile device.

4. PocketLists – Another find from AppsGoneFree, this productivity app is a task manager that syncs with the stock Reminders app on your iPhone. It lets you assign priority levels, due dates, and location based reminders. It’s quite useful and even though I have only had it for a day, I’ve already found it very useful.

 

That’s all I’ve got. What’s your favorite app for your iPhone/Android device?

 

SDG.

Leave a Reply

